Friday, 6 July 2012


Our first stop after arriving on Prince Edward Island was the provincial capital, Charlottetown, which is located on the south shore.  Charlottetown is known as the 'Birthplace of Confederation' because it was here in on 1st July 1867 that what was then the Dominion of Canada came into being.  The three British colonies became four Canadian Provinces: Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia and Nova Scotia.

There are many heritage buildings in Charlottetown, including the Old Bonded Warehouse (above), which is located on Water Street. 

Quiet tree-lined streets offered a welcome relief from the sun, which was scorching during our visit.

One of the sights which I enjoyed most was the colourful buildings, each painted differently.